Magenta - Canterbury Moon

Canterbury Moon Album Cover
Click image to enlarge

Catalogue Number: KSCD938
Barcode: 5055066693821
Release Date: 04/11/2002
Format: CD

Buy Now from

Magenta first appeared as a four piece folk act in 1974, playing clubs and concerts in and around Weston-Super-Mare, and specialising in vocal harmony based around three female voices. With the departure of two of the founding members in 1975, Janet and Arthur Brown carried on as a brother and sister team until the summer of 1976 when they were joined by Mervyn Brown who broadened the scope of the band to include some powerful vocals and a touch of humour. They were finally brought back up to strength with the arrival of multi-instrumentalist Pete Thompson in August 1977, following the demise of the popular traditional duo Broken Spectre.

Track Listing:
No. Name Composer(s) Length Year
1.) Thornaby Woods / The Hare in the Corn Traditional adapted. Pete Thompson 04 mins 08 secs 1978
2.) Marion Arthur Brown 04 mins 29 secs 1978
3.) I'll Never Trouble you Again Arthur Brown 05 mins 07 secs 1978
4.) Riding High Arthur Brown 04 mins 57 secs 1978
5.) Foxtrot Arthur Brown 03 mins 54 secs 1978
6.) Brother Can you Spare a Dime Words: EY Harburg, Music: Jay Gorney 03 mins 02 secs 1978
7.) Gypsie Arthur Brown 04 mins 48 secs 1978
8.) Even the Guiding Light I Matthews 03 mins 09 secs 1978
9.) Canterbury Moon Arthur Brown 05 mins 25 secs 1978
10.) Rocks of Bawn Traditional arr. Magenta 04 mins 48 secs 1978